#KungFuBondaIsComing

11942153_1085030641535386_6011416202016544985_o

Baggy, a stand-up comedian, an actor, a director and whatnot, is on the process of coming up with his next solo and he writes here about it!!

P.S: He is no longer single!


#KungFuBondaIsComing

That hash tag has taken over my life, it occupies my every waking memory and haunts my dreams when I am asleep. It squeezes my insides, reminding me there are only 38 days to go and makes my head spin when I think about how much more is there to do, before he (KungFuBonda) can come. It’s scary and exhilarating and a whole bunch of other things all at the same time, like drinking strong, bitter and yet sweet kashaayam which I cannot quite decide If I like or not, and I am beginning to understand why!

‘Baggy In and As ‘KUNGFU BONDA‘, that’s my second stand up special(first solo), premiering on July 8th in Chennai and touring Bangalore, Coimbatore, Hyderabad and Mumbai for the rest of July. I am writing jokes for this show from my life experiences and slowly but surely, I begin to realise that I am perhaps experiencing life more, so that I can write jokes.

I think for the first time in my 10 yrs of having a job, when someone asks me what I do, I actually have a convincing 2 mark answer. Previously, that always used to be an essay question, to which I used to embark on telling them the long story of how a computer science nerd ended up in the field of performance arts. Followed by a thesis on what it means to be in this field and what I actually do “day in and day out” as a “full time practising professional” in the said field. Now I just tell them I am a Stand Up Comedian and people nod, their expression is still quizzical but previously it used to be only that. Now I also see in their faces faint signs of acceptance, understanding and even perhaps mild comprehension. Of course, that’s usually just followed by “Oh! Really? Tell one Joke no?!” But hey, baby steps ok!

It isn’t just that I have an answer to give my relatives and acquaintances and other nosy people I run into, but I am also beginning to enjoy having an identity that I can wear with a little more confidence. I turned 30 a few months back, and no one told me that it is when you go through a second puberty. My mind and body are going through changes, again! My moobs (look it up if you don’t know that is, if you’re a guy maybe just removing your shirt and looking down will be enough) seem to prefer sagging and the chest hair I used to wear proudly as a younger gent is getting a little too dense, in stark contrast, with my head of hair thats moving in the opposite direction of the density spectrum. The rest of the world is taking notice these symptoms of my tricenarity (thats the term I coined for being between 30 and 39, aka thirtysomething), and insists on thrusting on me responsibilities and real life problems that I am supposed to somehow be miraculously equipped to handle now apparently.

But what life doesn’t realise is that, I maybe growing older but I am not growing up. I refuse to deal with all these new expectations of me. I cannot believe that I have to get a complete health check up. It feels like just yesterday I used to accompany my thatha on jolly car rides when he used to go to get these check ups done. Now you’re saying it’s my time?!? My friends have all ‘settled down,’ mid-level to senior positions in companies, cushy paychecks, wives or husbands, fancy vacations, kids(??!?) and a lot more to show that they are dealing with these changes and ageing with style and grace. But for me, It’s too much, I cant take it, I am not going to accept this without a fight.

Enter ‘Art!’ I would be lost without this avatar of mine as a stand up comedian and artist. I recently put out videos online, they got lots of views and shares but not too many views and shares. It went viral, but viral like one of those 2 day sicknesses and not full blown Chikkungunya (what a weird sounding disease!). Nonetheless, knowing that there are others out there willing to believe in and accept this avatar of mine, makes it easier for me to take to it with more readiness, start building material to feed and showcase myself, as a stand up comedian, and an artist on stage, on facebook, on twitter, on instagram (no Im not on snapchat), on YouTube and of course in real life!

I promise to use all these new experiences to write many many hopefully funny jokes. My biggest realisation, in the hunt for jokes for my next special, I seem to be seeking out and experiencing life a lot more. Enjoying it and suffering it a lot more. That I suppose is what Art does, make you express outward but apparently also search, grow and express to yourself too.. Eloquent no? :D Older is wiser after all ;)

I moved out of home. I hosted a show on Vijay TV. I’m building a flat of my own. I filed my taxes. I joined the gym. I quit the gym. I got a girlfriend. I became a little viral. I got a little famous. I got disappointed that I didn’t get more famous. I got my hair styled, not cut, mind you, styled. I went shopping for crockery. I was the best man at my best friend’s wedding. I am cooking and cleaning and washing and ironing on my own. I ran a marathon. No I didn’t. But I did rejoin the gym⁠⁠⁠⁠. I am planning the bachelor party for another best friend’s wedding. Ass holes are all getting married. Basically I turned 30 and I plan on becoming a comic, quite literally. Living life, one strip at a time and squeezing the joke out of every situation. This cartoon of my existence I cant wait to share with all of you, so get ready.

#KungFuBondaIsComing

Baggy!

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Evam. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #KungFuBondaIsComing

  1. Ajay says:

    Classic writing Baggy! All the very best for you first solo show. Please work out on the correct time to let your mom know about your girlfriend.

    Like

  2. Karthika Kalimuthu says:

    U can write too! Nice

    Like

Leave a Reply

