My Journey with evam!!

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-27 at 10.11.12.jpeg

Hari has been with Team evam, Bangalore for the past two years, working with the Theatre Festival and evam Standup Tamasha team.


 “Oh! You’re almost done with your engineering degree. What next?” is, according to me, as scary and absurd as my older friends being asked when they were getting married. I’m 23. I haven’t tried or even heard of half the things I can do that are out there. I find it overwhelming to think of just one thing I’d want to do for the rest of my life without trying each one of them.

It was one of those days while worrying over that question that I decided to step out of my comfort zone and make a call. I just happened to see an advertisement for the Theatre Festival on the newspaper and decided to ask them if I could be a part of the team. Enter evam. I never expected that offering to volunteer at a Theatre Festival would give me a huge dose of new perspectives. It has always been fun volunteering for evam, they always make sure we aren’t overworked and most importantly, make sure we’re doing it with a smile on our faces. For me, what started as volunteering has now led to being trusted with more responsibilities for our shows, and has now come full circle with having to make sure our volunteers for the shows are have a blast working with us!

Cut to 2 years later, after being head of hospitality and managing Stand-up comedy shows for Evam Standup Tamasha in Bangalore, that still hasn’t changed. Apart from having a ball watching kickass comics from all over the country, work often involves meeting people with such diverse ways of thinking. Add to that the bonus experiences like these – going to the office of the Bangalore Commissioner of Police to get permission for shows where you were treated exactly in this flow: 1. Really Nice 2. Really Angry 3. Really Confused 4. Back to being Really Nice, and all this in a span of five minutes. And then, imagine being at a show when a *small technical glitch occurs* and you’re standing around two people, one of whom reacts with“Ah cool! This means I can do so stuff a different way!” and another who reacts like it’s the end of the world and the four horsemen are at the door of our venue.

Now what all of this has done for me, apart from thinking that college placements were not the only route to making career choices, is giving me first hand views of people doing all the things that they do for a living. Almost every time I’m at work, I’ve had the chance to speak to at least two sets of people who do the same jobs like writing, advertising, marketing, lighting design, sound engineers, *add some more obscure professions to the list that I can’t remember*, and what all these conversations have always had in common is that each of them looked at their job differently, making this a learning opportunity for me. Seeing all these people do all these fantastically fun things reassures me of my idea that I don’t have to do just one thing for a living, in a world with so many career choices.

And to the multitude of kids in college who’re confused – either about what you want to do, or if college is just boring for you – just go put yourself out there, go start off as a volunteer if you see someone doing something you think is cool, or just ask people if you could do an internship

Hari

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Evam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

