Ctrl+S your passion! Not many have it!

unnamed

 

 

Vivek, an engineer as his degree says, a playwright and an actor as his passion dictates, is our in-house designer, here at evam now! In this blog he talks about how he is managing to not let go of his passion!


2011… My 12th standard final exams… Who will help me with my career? Experts suggested that I take arts, but… my great grandmother had engineering ideas.

To begin with, I hail from a serene locality with beautiful lakes, with gentle breeze, dogs and cows roaming around and greenery dancing to the tunes of the gentle wind. This was my typical college scene. More than the lectures, I used to hear my professors yelling “GET OUT” at me as I was the most notorious person in class. This made me an outstanding person in college. I spent most of my time organising college events and hosting them. That is where I realised I was potentially an organiser and not an engineer.

According to me, “Embarrassments make a human being epic”. Managing and performing on stage since 5th standard in school, I always had this inseparable passion towards the arts and acting, and that kept me intrigued to do something related to it. I was paid heavily at my work, but something was amiss. I wasn’t satisfied. I wasn’t being me. I wasn’t happy either. Days went by and I still hadn’t moved an inch towards my passion. I was in a state where I had to make a bold choice or give up totally. One year passed by and I couldn’t take anymore of the IT crap, which made my mind fully saturated. Frustrated, I left my job, earned the curse of my family and lost the support and trust people had on me. With no clear plans ahead, I searched for jobs in the event management domain to somehow direct my career towards my passion. Since I was holding an engineering degree, I wasn’t well received and had to face the wrath of some recruiters as I was considered over qualified and more importantly, more qualified than some of them.

Three to four months went by and the humiliation from being rejected multiple times made me drained-physically & mentally. The only thing that kept me going was my own Theatre Company. Even though there were no shows or rehearsals I used to go out with my friend and discuss new ways to improve our company. I always knew I had a good sense of design and since I was starting afresh I decided to explore life as a freelance designer, (I had read a lot about it, taught myself during my IT days) and so I started looking for clients. I was fortunate enough to get a few good clients who appreciated my work & gave me more and more opportunities to work for them. One such brand was “Sahasra Kalavriksha”, a classical dance studio that really encouraged & supported me as a designer. Feeling highly motivated,I got better at it and got to a stage to call myself a qualified designer.

I was finally satisfied with the work I was doing, but I saw my parents getting worried as they thought I was wasting my life doing useless things (they obviously didn’t understand the whole freelance bit). While their happiness was key to me, I also knew I didn’t want to leave my passion for designing and so again I started searching for jobs.

I owe a big hug to evam for understanding my potential and giving me an opportunity to pursue my passion. I’ve always been fascinated by their comedy shows in the city and that made me want to be a part of their team. I thought of approaching them earlier but the fear of getting rejected stopped me. Being a Facebook junkie (thank god for that), I happened to see their post about recruitment for an in-house designer. Hoping for a ray of sunshine I sent evam my resume and thankfully got a call for an interview. Excited and scared at the same time I went and met them, came out very surprised and trust me, I truly had become the most spiritual person on earth (more than Jaggi Vasudev). Temples and pilgrimage was my focus till I got a reply that I had finally gotten the job!!

It’s been 4 months of being a designer, I love my job and I’ve never had this much satisfaction in any of my previous firms. Thank you evam for teaching me the most important lesson of life “Follow your passion with love and dedication”.

Honestly, as a designer I would suggest that everyone Ctrl+S their passion and interests. It’ll help one grow more in life.

Vivek (a) Venkatanathan

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Evam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

