Orthodoxically me!

13662291_10154229378997279_8876591248035352806_o.jpg

Praveen Kumar is a Bangalore based stand up comedian who has been voted as one of the top 10 stand up comedians by TOI in 2011 and by CNN IBN in 2014. He has performed around 950 shows in over 17 cities in India and beyond. He also has been featured in the nomination list of Forbes Top 100 celebrities in 2014 and in 2015. He is the only clean comedian in India.

P.S: Biriyani is his favourite thing in this whole world.


After I launched my first solo show – The Tickle Minded in Jan 2014, I was a little out of focus in terms of solo shows. Whatever new jokes I wrote, I added to The Tickle Minded and I continued the same for a year which clearly shows the lack of maturity as a comic. Then I had an idea of a TV Program – specific show called The Idiot box and I couldn’t get my creativity flushed out beyond 25 mins and stopped working on it. Luckily in the last quarter of 2015 I came up with an idea of a story telling show and thus evolved Kancheepuram To Koramangala (K2K) which was launched exactly after 2 years of Tickle Minded in Jan 2016.

I did some 13 runs of K2K in Bangalore, Chennai and Hyderabad. I learnt tons and tons from those 13 shows. I got focus. I got to know what to do. I wanted to do a theme based show. I thought of doing a traffic based show; I thought of doing food based show; I thought of combining both and calling it Traffic Jam (insert slow claps). That connect, that feel and that depth was not there. After hours and hours of diving into my heart and thoughts and after losing 5000 strands of hair (ok that happened naturally) I came up with the theme which will have a great connect with the audience because they had known me like that and I am actually like that. Orthodoxically Me.

I was brought up in a small town and eventually in an orthodox manner. I don’t smoke; I don’t drink alcohol; I was not in any relationships before my marriage; had an Arranged marriage; I don’t understand many technological advancements like Snapchat, weird smilies, the way these teenagers are dressing up etc.. So I thought let me make it as a theme and talk about it. And thus came Orthodoxically Me. In this 70 mins show I talk about all the topics mentioned above and much more.

Now that I have a deadline of Sep 4th to launch the show, I am putting pressure on myself to write everyday, rehearse everyday and perform in open mics almost everyday. So last 2 months and the present month was and will be only writing, performing, learning, correcting and repeating. It is lot of pressure. But hey, I am enjoying that. I can relax after the launch.

I am also really honoured and glad to be a part of evam and also to be working with them to launch the show in many cities. Special thanks to KK for the lovely ideas for Photoshoot and poster. The poster is gathering lot of eyeballs now and looks like it might even convert to sales. And extremely thankful to Vasanth and Rabhinder for executing the ideas and making things happen.

Launching the show in Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Pune, Coimbatore, Cochin and other cities. I am really looking forward to this and hopefully you guys are too. See you in one of the shows in one of the cities. Thank you.

Orthodoxically,
Me.

-Praveen Kumar

 

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Evam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

