The Open MIC Community

KK 10The Open Mic is the reducing of the distance between a stimulus to the Mind, a feeling generated, the processing of it, the expression, and the resonance it creates, and its ultimate healing…

Doesn’t sound much unlike a Rebellion or a Movement… and like any such Mass movement that sought to purge, the Microphone is at the centre of it! Don’t use a Weapon – use a Mic instead…

That’s what this movement has meant to me!

I did my first Open Mic only in the 4th year of my Standup Journey – coz there were no such concept that existed before that in my City… what we did before was technically an Open Mic- just that we opened it to ourselves and then after show we packed and took the Mic back home!

But the first time I stepped into a democratic Open Mic forum, I suddenly felt like I was part of something bigger than my own self mutilating creative whipping corner of Standup Comedy… there was a kindred brethren out there, of similar masochistic mind-frigged crazy ones out there seeking a listening… some had jokes, some had feeling, some had a voice…

Since then its the Community that I feel most home at, I walk in to any Open Mic forum and I expect not to be recognized, but only to be acknowledged, as – I don’t know who you are, but hey we are all in this together this evening – lets light up our souls a bit… sometimes we burn, sometimes we glow!

And there are somethings I have begun to expect from this community – yes, I have Expectations of this little community that I am a part of…
Stay Communicated – talk before a show, if you have mind-space. But talk after the show – that is key. Be Honest in feedback – be generous in suggestions – be critical to the face – hug at the end of it!
Help Another – Help another artist find a spot – encourage an outsider to try the craft – give them the joy that someone gave you… this stage is meant to be shared and the movement will grow when shared more… its a movement – not a rationed limited!
Don’t form cliques – go surprise yourself and meet and chat up with new people – pick their minds, and allow them to pick yours… start new conversations -this is the ultimate geek fest – open up and pull that mask off… This is not the local street Adda – don’t make it familiar to you… let it always be strange and new – Stay Awkward!
Don’t bitch about another, when they aren’t there – Bitch to their face and do it with a sense of humour – like you do with all topics and your material… My best friends who are comics are assholes who crap on me on a bad day – I love them and the liberty they take!
Don’t do your bit and disappear – hang around, soak it in… let someone reward you with a thought or conversation…
Keep doing it… let it become a rigour – turn up – maybe you won’t perform, then listen… write at the open mic – write post – let the envy of another’s great set spur you forward; allow yourself to kick yourself when you saw someone else develop your premise… turn up and experience it!
Expand the universe – go setup one at your world… maybe its your office, your school, your building society – whatever – go spread it further and pay it forward…

Thank you Open Mic Communities all around – you make me want to be a Better Comic!

Karthik Kumar

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Evam. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Open MIC Community

Leave a Reply

