I chose…

IMG_20160424_230241.jpg

Syama Harini is a Project Executive in Evam trying new content in open mics while studying the same old syllabus in Economics in Stella Maris. She is well on her way to master both :)

 

 

 

I always chose chocolates over calories and Batman over Barbie.

I chose playing games in my play station over hours of window shopping unlike many of my friends.

I am one of the very few who chose a degree in economics over management

Yes, I am pursuing my masters in economics (no, I haven’t mastered it yet. Don’t even know the definition of economics yet)

Yes I am a girl and I don’t like kids and I don’t go ‘Awwww’ over them at any point of time

I chose to quit college in Bangalore to stay with my mom and my city.

I chose drama (theatre) over corporate life

And yes I chose to stay with Evam and discover more theatre and arts over money

I have always been a fan of theatre because I believe it helps in dealing with real life drama better!

I have acted in a few plays in school and college.

But Evam showed me what professional theatre was and what it takes to actually put up a kickass production

I chose Evam to be my first employer which obviously gave me my first salary

And Evam made me meet my true love which is stand-up. I still commit to it as much as I can and share a very intimate relationship with it. 

Evam Standup Tamasha has inspired me to write scripts for stand-ups and do open mics every week.

It has also inspired me to do stand-up in my college farewell and win competitions for my college in culturals

I chose to have a career where people can laugh at me (literally) and I can also get paid for it because you need money too!

“If you are good at something never do it for free” – Joker from The Dark Knight


Syama Harini

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Evam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

