Things my parents didn’t do for me!

Thoorika

Cinthoorika heads the education division of evam. Loves travelling and thinks production is one of the best parts of theatre. She often gets ragged by 4-year-olds. But she always takes it in stride.


They say that parents are the happiest when their kids are happy in life! Not when they are successful, not when they are the richest person in the world – but when they are just “Happy”. That’s all it takes. They say that’s all it takes for the parents to be peaceful in life (Now don’t ask me who “they” are – You silently accept it when Christopher Nolan says in Interstellar no.. Then now shush and accept this also)

I was a tomboy when I was growing up! I still am. To a great extent. My parents didn’t give one crap about me for being so. Except during the occasional family get-togethers and functions. But that’s understandable. Its always better to be safe than sorry – and here being sorry means getting an earful from your grandmother. They taught me that its okay to be different!

Throughout my childhood, there are a lot of things my parents did for me. But the things they didn’t, are the ones that have truly shaped me.

They didn’t tell my Music teacher that I won’t be coming for classes as I had my exams.
They didn’t tell me not to go for my basketball practices when I had my boards coming up.
They didn’t get irritated with me when I was struggling to pass my exams in Math.
They didn’t get fed up with my habit of reading everything under the sun – Right from newspapers to the ingredients on the toothpaste tubes (Though holding up the bathroom in order to, did piss off my sister at times)
They didn’t get angry that I chose Arts over Science.
They didn’t hesitate to teach me that it’s completely fine to follow your dreams and your dreams can be way different from others.

I can go on and on but you get the drift! Let me point it out here that I was not raised as a spoilt brat. As much as my parents were happy by supporting my choices. They were the ones who taught me that I had a right to make one, taught me how to make the right one (Even better – The happier one) and how to stick by it too.

Bottomline – There are things that they chose not to do for me, and for that I am ever grateful. It has taught me and helped me to be happy with the choices I’ve made in life. Whether it’s education or career choice or life choice. And seeing me happy is all it takes for them to be happy.

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Evam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

