The entire picture

11200629_10153176771782696_4736256517596765729_nShashank Rajaram is a media graduate (ahem) from Symbiosis Institute of Media and Communication (UG). His keen interests in everything other than academics has put him in a mental state of thinking he knows it all.

“Movies will make you famous; Television will make you rich; But theatre will make you good.”
– Terrence Mann


Through my childhood, I have been an enthusiast of extra curricular activities, mainly culturals. And as my interest in culturals expanded, so did my love for the performing arts. Theatre always piqued my curiosity; even while I did my own share of acting for school dramas and the likes. Things were getting quite idle inside the devil’s mind as the days kept rolling by without any real meaning. Life was starting to becoming a monotonous loop of doing nothing and just complaining about doing nothing while doing nothing. I decided it was time to add a little something to all this nothingness. I’ve always dreamt of having a future in something that doesn’t require one to sit behind a desk 10 hours a day. And when the time finally came for me to get a job in the ‘real world’, I noticed that it was about time for the annual Hindu Theatre Festival in Chennai.

Thus began my relationship with evam. Although I was only volunteering, I was taken into the production team of Timothy – a play that was to be put up by evam at the Hindu Theatre Festival. All the preconceptions I had about the production department was short-lived. The amount of patience and adherence to detail that one has to undergo is quite tasking if you do not have the love for theatre or rather, for putting up a good performance. The vibe one gets from evam can be compared to that of a tight family. I guess this could be because they’re a compact group with a focused goal or the fact that their office was actually an apartment that could house a family.

The event went off so well that I insisted on continuing whatever little amount of work I could carry out with them. This led me to become a part of the team which handled two stand-up comedy shows in Chennai and Bangalore for Karthik Kumar and S Aravind respectively and one big budget fundraiser which included two more comedians from East India Comedy and was a 4 piece stand-up extravaganza.

Every activity that I underwent while working with them was like a learning curve. It kept getting better as I kept gaining more skills and tricks into the art of managing art. I am fairly certain that I can claim to have a decent amount of knowledge when it comes to running and executing a show all thanks to evam. It has given me a deeper understanding of what goes on backstage as well as under the spotlight.

evam is more than just a theatre group. It has given me a completely unique experience and a number of wonderful memories that I will never forget. I was fortunate to get a chance to work with a team of super fun and dedicated people like that of evam.

They say that theatre is a dying art. But I feel that it is dying to be art in this digitalized age we live in. And evam is doing its share in supporting this cause.

Until next time.

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Blog Talk, Evam and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

