Nithesh – An evam Product

NitheshNithesh is a Project Lead at TCS , a young, dashing and talented Tambrahm. A devoted theatre enthusiast. A trained actor and mime artist. Evam shows evangelist. A big foodie who loves to travel a lot and explore the local veg cuisine. He is pursuing his dream of becoming an Arts Manager.


As I was cleaning up my messy room, I stumbled upon an invite of The Hindu Theatre Fest 2015, wherein my name was mentioned as the Hospitality Head.

Upon seeing this, I became very nostalgic and stopped cleaning. Even though I was physically present there, mentally I wandered off to my life 5 years ago.

“EVAM! Theatre! What’s That??”

Like any normal youngster after graduation in engineering, I was also on a look out for good job openings. I started working in Wipro. Time moved on and slowly the work became monotonous. There was no “fizz”. Lots of things came to my mind – “Am I going to be a conventional IT man who always stares at the computer? “, “Am I going to become a template or a prototype OR do something besides this to make life more interesting?”

At that time I came across an advertisement from evam for The Hindu Theatre Fest. The ad itself sounded very interesting. So I made up my mind as to give it a shot. I went with an open mind to the interview. With no past experience or knowledge about this field, I was very skeptical. But I got through and was assigned with the responsibility of handling the team and the cast for the Fest. Yayyy! My first fest was done. It was huge learning and I was given an option of joining Team Evam. I made up mind to not let go of this opportunity.

I was a little apprehensive about being able to manage both my job commitments as well as the theatre activities. As I was a bit confused, I looked up at the skies… I got a signal.  Two “shirts” had been given to me – A formal shirt/conventional type and the other one was a trendy t-shirt.  Even though I was qualified to wear the conventional type of shirt, my heart wanted the trendy t-shirt. I had the option of wearing both the shirts. The t-shirt was a little too big for me. I told myself that I would not alter either shirts to my size, rather I will find a way to make this work. Literally, the part time job, which was much more interesting and challenging started taking over my regular job commitments.

As I was located in the outskirts of the city – there was a clash between my job commitments and the theatre activities due to time constraints. At one point, I was forced to decide between the two “shirts”. Even in the wildest of my dream, I had never thought that this decision of mine would be a turning point in my life. This trendy t-shirt aka evam has helped me explore another facet of my life. Infact the t-shirt that was too big earlier has now become the right fit for me. This by itself goes to prove beyond doubt how much evam has contributed in shaping my career. I have grown, blossomed and matured.  I’ve gotten an identity.

I’ve managed the hospitality department of around 100 evam shows over a span of 5 years.

Things I learnt over the years include-

1) People Management
2) Various aspects of an event – Production, Ticketing, Promotions
3) What is it to be a theatre artist
4) Crisis management
5) Team work

“Wow! Nithesh!”, I hear this wherever I go. Nowadays I don’t see the skies, I just look inside me. I have so much more clarity. I owe a lot to this theatre group and I am proud to be a part of the evam family!

By Ganesha’s grace I have been able to manage both my IT life and Theatre. I would like to thank my parents for their immense support.

Last but not the least, I owe it to ‘Samratchana’ an organization where I grew up all my life and my mentor Shiva Shankar Baba for molding me.  It is always his words which inspired me and will continue to do so.

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Art Manager, Blog Talk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

