Life Out Of The Box

RaghavRaghav is currently doing his Postgrad in Global Financial Markets at Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE). He plays the Drums (Wannabe Sivamani) and works as the Editor for Chennai International Film Festival.

This is what he has to say about life, “My life is diversified like Mutual Funds. Seriously.”


The adrenaline rush soared three years back when I completed my undergrad and didn’t have the slightest clue what I was going to do in life. That’s when a moderately mini article in the first page of the Metroplus caught my attention; it was about a Theatre Fest. But what was theatre?? I presumed Sathyam cinemas were screening superstar films, but later realized that Theater and Theatre are downright different.

“It was only in the theatre that I lived” – Oscar Wilde

I had negligible knowledge about theatre but the passion and interest to explore this field started my journey as a volunteer at the Metroplus Theatre Fest. Being given the opportunity to work in the front-end team that managed the fest, it was the first time in my entire life, I witnessed a live play on stage. It instigated me to join evam and learn the various facets of Theatre. The first fascinating task was to work in the production crew of Five Point Someone at Rangashankara, Bangalore. For a person like me who had always watched the play as the audience,this seemed like a treasure hunt with an A4 sheet and a torch in hand. The stage was dim and the play had quick set changes for each scene which involved and engaged me to a large extent, transforming it to the best opportunity for me to learn about the backstage particulars in theatre. Thereafter, I began to indulge myself in a wide range of the projects at evam which motivated me to explore my inner talents.

– Working in the managerial side of evam taught me how to use Microsoft excel effectively.

– Being the production head in Metroplus Theatre Fest 2013 acquainted me to Revolver vendors in the city.

– Coordinating the First Rush workshops improved my shutterbug skills.

– Promotional activities for each play helped me meander through the shortcuts in the city.

Theatre for me is a discipline dealing with the nuances of the body and mind. A theatre lover understands the structure and aesthetics of a piece that is manifested onstage and offstage, motivating one to work with zest. This discipline that entails great skill, motivation and creativity, creates beautiful memories and contributes to a better social sense of being. evam is 2nd family to me. No matter what kind of project I was assigned, I have always given my full potential.

This is where I am and where I will always be.

About EVAM

Founded in 2003 by Sunil Vishnu K. and Karthik Kumar, ‘evam’ today is a profitable young thriving arts organization making people believe in the power of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Blog Talk, Evam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

